What you should read First

What you should read Second.

Start with "Fibromyalgia Definition"and and then move on to the rest of the posts of dated April 24th

Saturday, July 18, 2009

five stages of grief

After getting a diagnosis of fibromyalgia or chronic fatigue syndrome, it’s normal to feel a variety of emotions. It’s important for you to deal with these feelings and to recognize them for what they are – the stages of grief. You'll likely have to grieve for your old life in order to make the best progress at managing your new one.

five stages of grief that a patient goes through after learning of a terminal prognosis. While FMS won't kill you, you could still feel an overwhelming sense of loss. That's understandable, because you likely will need to make some big changes to your lifestyle. The stages of grief are:

1.Denial – A refusal to accept what is happening.

2.Anger – Feeling like it’s not fair or being angry in general.

3.Bargaining – Promising something such as being a better person if the situation goes away.

4.Depression – Giving up, not caring what happens.

5.Acceptance – Coming to terms with the situation and being ready to move forward.
Once you've moved through these stages, coping will probably be easier but you still could have emotional set-backs. If you're unable to progress through the stages of grief or feel that you could be clinically depressed, be sure to tell your doctor. You may need to see a counselor to help you through it, and medications may help as well. Remember that clinical depression often occurs with in conjunction with these conditions.

No comments:

Post a Comment